Daily Archives: February 8, 2020

Week of Feb. 10, 2020

Mrs. Piatt’s Weekly Newsletter

*Our class will be exchanging valentines on Friday. If your child is choosing to exchange valentines, we have 25 students in our class. If your child chooses some sort of valentines with candy or some sort of snack, please be sure to send the store bought package information so that we have the ingredient list. Thank you!

Special Reminders:

*Friday – Spelling Test (No new list will be given for the following week, we will be taking a break from spelling that week.)

*Friday, February 14 – Valentine’s Day Exchange

Looking Ahead…

*Monday, February 17 – Presidents’ Day (No School)

*Monday, February 19 – Central Manor Career Day

*Tuesday, February 25 – Kids at Work Day

*Friday, February 28 – February Reading Logs due! (240 minutes)

*Friday, March 6 – PTO Movie Night at CM

*Monday, March 9 – PTO Meeting (6:30 in the CM Library)

*Friday, March 13 – 1:30 Early Dismissal

*Wednesday, March 25 – School Wide Art Show from 6-8 PM at CM! Your child’s artwork will be on display!

*Friday, March 27 – Weather Make-up Day

What are we learning this week?

English Language Arts (ELA): This week, we’ll spend time digging deeper into learning about and practicing how good readers draw conclusions and make inferences as they read. We will be reading a few high interest picture books and stories that will help us practice these important reading skills.

Math: We will take our test on decimals at the end of the week. Students will be comparing tenths and hundredths, working on problem solving with decimals and practicing spiral review skills during station rotations. Homework is such an important piece of maintaining mastery of skills. If you are able to look over your child’s homework each night, that would be fantastic. Thank you for your support!

Social Studies: We will be learning about natural resources and renewable/non-renewable resources.